dig deep, my girl

She wrapped her four-year-old fingers around the newly acquired piece of candy as if it were more precious than gold.  Her fist tightly clasped, she could barely contain her glee as she skipped around the church parking lot clutching her prized possession.

A while later, I noticed that her hands were empty.

“Where’s your sweet?” I asked.

“Oh, I planted it over there,” she explained nonchalantly, “so it will grow into a tree full of sweets.”

And I smiled with maternal pride, because she got it.  She understood already that what you put in is what you get out.

860985_10152000878995882_1966681646843322129_o

So dig deep, my girl.

Find the richest of soil, and dig deep.

Plant your treasure where the rain falls gently all around, and when the plant springs up, may it be strong and confident like the sunflower, with its face always turned bright toward the sun. 

For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also ..

So take what is precious and bury it where it will reap an eternal harvest, and you will have not only a tree, but fields ripe and plentiful.

And you will blossom and bloom in the Light  ..

 

It’s Five-Minute Friday over at Lisa-Jo Baker’s, and this week’s prompt is BLOOM.

 

22 thoughts on “dig deep, my girl

  1. That is one smart kid! Willing to give up the present satisfaction for future much-more-satisfaction. If only candy grew on trees. 🙂 So much wisdom for a 4 year old!

  2. Oh I love this Kate! “Plant your treasure where the rain falls gently all around, and when the plant springs up, may it be strong and confident like the sunflower, with its face always turned bright toward the sun.” This is so good!

  3. Kate- you always do such a great job with these FMF posts. This is lovely. I love the question, “Where’s your sweet?” 🙂 Loved this!

  4. “She understood already that what you put in is what you get out.”
    And my prayer is that I take that truth and live it out daily. In my words, my deeds, my heart and soul of love.
    So good to be in your happy space here! {Still wish I was seeing you in a couple weeks!} XO

  5. Wonderful in so many ways – I’m smiling with maternal pride and neither you nor your daughter are related! Great message, simple and precious. Thanks!

Leave a comment